The FinEd Network comprises the doctoral programmes and faculties of eight Finnish universities. The members of the FinEd Network signed a written co-operation agreement in 2015. The member units maintain their membership by paying an annual membership fee.

The FinEd Network is led by its board, which has one regular member and one substitute member from each member unit. In addition, there are two doctoral researchers on the board. The board elects the Head of the Network from among the regular members of the board, who then acts as the Chair of the board. The network has a Coordinator who is also the secretary of the board. In addition, the FinEd Network can arrange workgroups for special tasks. The coordinating unit for the 2018–2019 period is the Faculty of Education and Culture at the Tampere University.

The board members for 2018–2019

Regular Members

  • Professor Kirsti Karila, Tampere University (chair)
  • Professor Päivi Atjonen, University of Eastern Finland (vice chair)
  • Professor Pirita Seitamaa-Hakkarainen, University of Helsinki
  • Professor Raija Hämäläinen, University of Jyväskylä
  • Professor Heli Ruokamo, University of Lapland
  • Assistant Professor Hanna Järvenoja, University of Oulu
  • Professor Risto Rinne, University of Turku
  • Professor Kristina Ström, Åbo Akademi University

Substitute members

      • Associate Professor Hanna Toiviainen, Tampere University
      • Professor Leena Koski, University of Eastern Finland
      • Professor Auli Toom, University of Helsinki
      • Research Coordinator Satu Perälä-Littunen, University of Jyväskylä
      • Professor Kaarina Määttä, University of Lapland
      • Professor Sanna Järvelä, University of Oulu
      • Professor Erno Lehtinen, University of Turku
      • Coordinator Sanna Niukko, University of Turku
      • Professor Mia Porko-Hudd, Åbo Akademi University
      • Doctoral Researcher Minna Körkkö, University of Lapland
      • Doctoral Researcher Jenni Tikkanen, University of Turku


      • Research Coordinator Anneli Lehtisalo, Tampere University